Newbie Cookie Help

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register
I maybe wrong but this seems to be something the folk over in the US do well. Generally I buy biscuits...not cookies lol

Anyway I would like to try something new. I am not a novice baker by any means but I like to start of simple with some things.

Could you share some simple cookie recipes with me that I might be able to try out this year?

patteemom

Retire Member
Oct 15, 2007
Idaho
Do you have a any kind in mind?
Like:
Chocolate chip
Oatmeal raisin
Peanut butter
sugar cookie
Molasses
gingerbread men
snickerdoodle
I think those are the basic cookies most others cookies tend to have roots from one of those.

Chocolate chip is my favorite followed close by oatmeal raisin. The men in my family tend to favor the molasses or oatmeal raisin. My kids are happy with any kind.
What do you want to start with?
:turkey:

the only cookies I have really eaten over here are the supermarket ones which are chocolate chip and whilst they taste gorgeous they seem to have a laxative effect :eek:

Chocolate is good...i like chocolate. The oatmeal and raisin sound nice. The kids wouldn't eat them, maybe they would like the peanut butter. Generally anything we like they dont lol

patteemom

Retire Member
Oct 15, 2007
Idaho
Here are few recipes I have:

Molasses Chew Cookies
¾ cup shortening
1 cup brown sugar
½ cup white sugar
¼ cup molasses
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground ginger
¼ teaspoon ground clove
2 ¼ cup flour
white sugar

In a large bowl cream together shortening, brown sugar, white sugar, molasses, egg, and vanilla. Add in all the dry ingredients until well mixed. Chill dough for several hours. Roll dough into balls, and then roll into white sugar. Place on a cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees. Makes about 3 dozen.

Peanut butter cookies

½ cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar