What we are buying in 2023.

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register

sweetpumkinpye

Premiere Member
Apr 23, 2008
Canberra, Australia
I had a more difficult year in 2022 sourcing items and managing the budget. So many items were unavailable and the prices on many other things had sky rocketed. By having an idea of what was needed early in the year I could tick things off as I found them and if I could not find items I had time to find an alternative. I will sit down with my Mum early next week and we will plan what we will prepare for Christmas dinner, baking, stocking fillers etc and devise a master list. I will pop it here as a reminder of what I will need to buy through out the year.
I am hoping that with some creative thinking and shopping we will be able to find everything that we need and still be able to give the family the Christmas that we wish for.

Holiday_Mom

Premiere Member
Sep 12, 2009
I have a master list of things I use for Christmas and I find looking for those items in July and August is helpful. It gives me time to find them if they aren't available then. Some things I know don't go on sale often. Those I'm willing to buy if I need them. Other items I will wait until October and November and try to take advantage of sales.

I'm also keeping track of "luxury" food items my children like. (For example, chocolate sunflower seed butter or imported Irish tea.) I will look for sales in November to see if anything goes on sale. Otherwise, I'll buy them the week before Christmas. Sometimes having those luxury items when things are tight makes things all that more sweeter.

sweetpumkinpye

Premiere Member
Apr 23, 2008
Canberra, Australia

PamelaG

Staff member
Premiere Member
May 27, 2011
Washington, the Evergreen State
I'm also keeping track of "luxury" food items