Christmas Open House

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register

Kim Loves Snow

Santa's Elves
Premiere Member
Aug 3, 2008
Richmond, Virginia
I've committed to hosting a Christmas Open House this year which will also give most of our friends and coworkers who have not seen our new house the opportunity to visit.

The date is December 15 and I have to go through with it because the printed invitations arrived in the mail yesterday! :0)

I'm looking for menu and beverage ideas. Do slower cookers look tacky for something like this? I do have chaffing dishes I can use to keep things warm.

I also am seriously thinking about hiring a server to keep the food refreshed, the tray tables cleared, etc. Do you think that is a waste of money?

Yes, I plan events for a living and I enjoy doing it. When things are in my own home I way over think them!!!!

MrsSoup

Premiere Member
Oct 13, 2007
Missouri
To me an open house is a come and go event, so people can just show up and walk through and leave anytime between the set hours you decide on. I would just do finger food that doesn't have to be kept warm and then use crockpots for hot cider or hot chocolate or something. I guess it depends on how fancy you want to get.

ChristmasPir8

Premiere Member
Nov 8, 2008
La La Land
how long is the event going to be? is it a open house like JEss said where they will be coming and going over a long time? If that's the case you may not have a tun of people in your house at one time and may not need the server to help. Crock pots and serving dishes are fin unless you plan on using really fancy plates and such. I am a casual person so nice paper plates here I come. LOL