Complete newbie -- is it too late?

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register

elfstacy

Retire Member
Nov 12, 2010
I've been reading a lot online lately about magic elf traditions. I've seen the Elf on the Shelf for sale, and have been curious. I would love to do this for my 2 sons (ages 9 and 4), but am worried I am too late this year. I'm also a little confused about how to begin. I just want to be sure I understand the concept...

I've read some posts about letters. Do I understand correctly that a letter from Santa or Mrs. Claus should arrive in the mail first to let them know an elf will be visiting? Then a letter from the elf himself? Then the elf should appear and hide in a different spot each night as well as make a report to Santa, right? Then he hitches a ride home Christmas Eve? What is the Santa story he should read from each night? Anything else that is a must have to do this for my kids?

Thanks for any advice. I will be reading as much of the forum as I can to catch up on this. :)

Gingerbug

Administrator
MHH Admin
Oct 9, 2007
Missouri, USA
Honestly you can do it however you want....my elf always arrives with the letter and a small gift....no letter in the mail....since your short on time that might work better.

It's never too late for the elf to arrive....lol. After he arrives we let Evan know that the Magic Elf can never speak opr move around when humans are around....so that explains why he just sits there..lol

You can give small gifts, have him get into mischief....one time ours hid in the fridge because he missed the North Pole weather

Its only limited by your imagination!!

jinglemom

Retire Member
Oct 16, 2007