December Magical Moment # 8 Cookies

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register

Gingerbug

Administrator
MHH Admin
Oct 9, 2007
Missouri, USA
Nothing says Christmas....like fresh baked cookies. I have a love-hate relationship with cookies...more specifically decorating cookies. They just never seem to turn out quite as lovely as I envisioned them.....well okay....not lovely at all! I am not good at cutting out cookies and have resorted to cookies that are dropped or rolled into balls or anything that doesn't require a cookie cutter.

Also I'm not BIG on baking and freezing. I know its probably just me but I don't think they taste as good once they are frozen. Therefore most of my baking occurs the week before Christmas...or this year will occur on the 22nd and 23rd. One of the reasons I want everything else finished early! Oh I may make a batch or two before then to enjoy at our parties or as treats druing the season. One year I baked and made candy all day on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful time...It was snowing like crazy and everything was on schedule so I could really enjoy the experience...we ended up having a lot of stuff left over!!

This year I am trying to limit the kinds of cookies to 3-4 and two different types of candy...Honestly I'm having a hard time deciding.

So what's your "relationship" like with cookies?

MrsSoup

Premiere Member
Oct 13, 2007
Missouri
I love to eat them. LOL No, really, I don't mind the mixing and measuring, but I don't like the baking very much. And the rolling out, I don't like that either. I love sugar cookies and make them every year, usually several times throughout the year. I also like them decorated but am not that creative or skilled when it comes to decorating them. They never look like I want them too and I usually end up leaving the last batch or so with no decoration or just colored sugar.